Restrictions updated for Victorian council areas

COVID-19 restrictions

Local Government Victoria recently sent information to all Victorian councils on the updated State of Emergency and mandatory face coverings. While many of these restrictions were initially applicable only to metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire residents, these were upgraded to include all Victorian residents on 30 July.

From Sunday 2 August at 11.59pm, all Victorian residents were required to wear a face covering when leaving home, unless they have a lawful reason for not doing so. For councils located in those areas, all staff are required to wear a face covering when they are not at home.

Also from that date, residents in the local government areas of Colac-Otway, Greater Geelong, Surf Coast, Moorabool, Golden Plains and the Borough of Queenscliffe will no longer be able to visit people or have visitors at home.

Resources for councils and their communities, including posters and translated materials, can be found on the DHHS website.

LGV can provide advice to councils on non-health related queries on 1300 764 373 or email